Max Out Life

You can do better. You deserve better.

How to: Salary Negotiations

ben philabaum, Ramit Sethi, Maxoutlife.wordpress.com, college, student

Ben Philabaum and Ramit Sethi

In college, I had the opportunity to teach a “Student-Initiated Course,” or basically a course on whatever I wanted. So I got together with two of my friends and we put together a course on religious studies.

Now, Stanford gave us incredible flexibility to teach essentially whatever we wanted…but the student instructors never got letter grades — it was always Pass/No Pass (everybody always passed), issued by the sponsoring professor.

Until we came along.

You see, I was never the smartest person in any school I attended. But I got pretty street smart over the years. And so I petitioned the sponsoring professor to let us teach the class for a letter grade. I negotiated with her and convinced her to let us recommend our own grades (!), back it up with evidence, and she would approve it.

We would basically write our own ticket!

One of my co-instructors was amazed that I convinced the sponsoring professor to agree. He signed the papers to enroll for a letter grade instantly.

But my other co-instructor hesitated.

Read more at Ramit Sethi’s blog.

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
