Max Out Life

You can do better. You deserve better.

The Spiderweb Strategy by Sacha Greif (Medium)

Lupita Nyong'o and Jared Leto

Lupita Nyong’o and Jared Leto like strategy. (Credit: Awesome People Hanging Out Together)

I’ve been known to launch a few projects. And one of the questions I get the most when launching something new is, “how do you plan to monetize it?”.

Here’s the thing: most of the time, I didn’t have a clue. So I’d mumble something about ad revenue, and quickly change the subject.

This used to keep me up at night. Was I working on the right things? Shouldn’t I have some kind of plan for revenue? How would I support myself when my savings ran out?

It all changed the day I got bit by a radioactive spider who also happened to be particularly good at marketing. This is when I came up with theSpiderweb Strategy.

Note: if you want to read more about product strategy, be sure to also check out my previous piece, The Product Spectrum.

The Product Network

Let’s say you have a bunch of different projects.

Some make a little money, some make more. Here’s what your project portfolio might look like (bigger circles mean more revenue):

 

Having a diversified product portfolio has its advantages. It means you’re covering all your bases, and potentially have multiple hit products on your hands.

Read more at Medium.com.

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
