Max Out Life

You can do better. You deserve better.

Why the Manliest of Men Do Yoga

World Cup, USMNT, Jurgen Klinsmann, Landon Donovan, Brazil

US Men’s National Team coach Jurgen Klinsmann introduced his team to yoga before the World Cup.

This article originally appeared in 2013. 

The other day, while on another mini-quest of my seemingly endless expedition to find the tastiest micro-brewed porter in North America, I fell into talking with one of my fellow drunks. The conversation turned toward yoga. My conversations always do, mostly by design.

“You don’t look like a guy who does yoga,” he said.

My baseball cap, slight paunch, and general air of complete exhaustion had fooled a fresh victim.

“What might a guy who does yoga look like?” I asked.

I imagined him conjuring up a dreadlocked Burning Man freak with Shiva neck tats and a hemp-based diet. Like anyone who practices the yoga, I know plenty of dudes like that. But I also know plenty of conventional middle-aged baldies like me.

I had him beaten there.

“Besides, I’m not flexible enough to do yoga,” he said.

Again, he was wrong, and I had the rhetorical evidence. Yoga, I said, isn’t about being flexible or not flexible. It’s about controlling the fluctuations of the mind, about learning how to breathe through any situation, no matter how stressful, about honoring your thoughts and emotions, about loving and respecting all things, about appreciating life for the brief moments we’re given.

Read more at Mademan.com.

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2014 by in Career, Romance and tagged , , , , .
